Carro, Kali, and Mann sweep major SAA Men's Tennis awards for Sewanee

Carro, Kali, and Mann sweep major SAA Men's Tennis awards for Sewanee

2019 All-SAA Men's Tennis Awards

ATLANTA (May 6, 2019) – The Southern Athletic Association (SAA) announced the 2019 All-SAA Men's Tennis awards, Monday. The award winners were selected exclusively by the league's head coaches and conference office.

Andres Carro of Sewanee was named SAA Player of the Year. Brandon Kali, also of Sewanee, was named the SAA Newcomer of the Year while Tiger Head Coach Felix Mann was named the SAA Coach of the Year.

Carro was outstanding for the Tigers. This spring, he went a perfect 5-0 in SAA action playing at No. 1 singles. He defeated one nationally ranked opponent and teammed up with former SAA Player of the Year Jack Gray to finish 9-3 at No. 1 doubles.

Overall, Carro went 14-5 in doubles action, including a 5-0 mark in conference play.

In his first season, Kali was 11-7 overall. He finished 4-0 in conference action playing at No. 1, 2, 3, and 4. His best record was going 4-2 at No. 4. In doubles, he finished 10-5 overall and 2-1 in SAA action.

Finally, in his first season as head coach at Sewanee, Mann led the Tigers to their seventh straight SAA Championship. Sewanee finished the regular season 22-6 overall and a perfect 6-0 against SAA teams. Against regionally ranked teams, Sewanee was 7-2 with nationally-ranked wins over Stevens, Denison, Gustavus Adolphus, Kalamazoo, and Carleton.  

For a complete list of honorees, please click the link above. 

For more information on the Southern Athletic Association, please visit You can also follow the SAA on Twitter and Instagram.

About the SAA

The SAA is a member of the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III and is committed to fostering athletic competition and cooperation among academically selective, residential liberal arts colleges located in the southeastern region of the United States. The SAA core members include Berry College, Birmingham-Southern College, Centre College, Hendrix College, Millsaps College, Oglethorpe University, Rhodes College, and the University of the South.