About the SAA

The Southern Athletic Association is committed to fostering athletic competition and cooperation among academically selective, residential liberal arts colleges located in the southeastern region of the United States. The geographic focus will result in reduced travel time and fewer missed classes, while still allowing for a strong conference of like-minded institutions, all of which integrate competitive athletics into the whole of the student’s educational experience.

Spanning six states, the Southern Athletic Association core members include Birmingham-Southern College in Alabama, Centre College in Kentucky, Hendrix College in Arkansas, Millsaps College in Mississippi, Oglethorpe University and Berry College in Georgia, and Rhodes College and Sewanee: The University of the South in Tennessee.

The SAA also has affiliate memberships with Transylvania University in Kentucky for the the sport of field hockey and the University of Chicago in Illinois and Washington University (St. Louis) in Missouri in the sport of football.